You find what you look for!

Jeremiah 29:11-13 “‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.'”

I’ve noticed that a lot of people say they can’t find any evidence of God in their world. Sadly some had a faith in God and lost it for some reason.  And since they can’t find any evidence of God anymore they conclude nobody can because God never existed.  These people feel quite ‘intellectual’ and ‘grown up’  because they finally faced the ‘fact’ that there is no God.   They don’t realize how egotistical and self-centered their claims are but  they are so sure their right and others are  wrong.

I lose my car keys on a regular basis.  I look all over for them and end up running to my wife crying; ‘There gone! What am I going to do?’  My wife tells me; ‘Keep looking!’  I wonder what her reply would be if I said; ‘I can’t find my car keys! They never existed in the first place and I’m a fool to look for them!’  She would say; ‘You’re crazy – keep looking!’  If you wouldn’t give up on your car keys why would you give up on God?

You find what you look for.  If you’re not looking for God you won’t find Him.  If you’re looking for something else, you won’t find Him.  If you looked for Him and gave up, you won’t find Him.  The Psalmist declares; “Only fools say in their hearts,’There is no God.’ They are corrupt, and their actions are evil; not one of them does good!” (Psalm 14:1)  What greater corruption of life is there but to give up and claim it’s the right thing to do for everyone else?

Keep your faith even though you may be going through a tough time.  The Bible tells us; “And without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is and that He is a rewarder of those who seek Him.”  (Hebrews 11:6)

About tony

Studied at Queen's (BA, BSc, BEd) and Carleton (MA). Taught highschool math, computer science and physics for many years. Became a highschool principal. Now retired, worked part time at a residential drug and alcohol rehabilitation center. Also a lay pastor with the Wesleyan Church and volunteer for Prison Fellowship Canada.
This entry was posted in Daily Walk, Prayer, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

